Feds give disaster designation to Morgan County

Fort Morgan Times –  The Federal Emergency Management Agency on Tuesday added Morgan County to its list of now 10 Colorado counties eligible for public assistance due to flooding in September.

That federal disaster declaration, which was approved by President Barack Obama, was what the county needed so that public funding could become available to help pay for debris removal, repairing or replacing lost or damaged infrastructure and reimbursing for disaster-related costs.

The FEMA Public Assistance Program only applies to governmental and quasi-governmental agencies, though, according to Morgan County Commissioner Laura Teague. Morgan County and its municipalities were approved for all categories of this type of assistance.

Assistance for individuals is part of a separate FEMA program and would require another declaration, she said.


Read the full story:

This entry was posted in General News, State / Local and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *