Police Officers Killed: 2011 vs 2010

By Mike Bauman

 As of April 1, 2011, there had been 52 police officers killed in the line of duty in the United States this year.  Compare that to 48 by this time last year.

 The Greeley Gazette salutes the people who daily lay it on the line for their communities.

Deputy Sheriff Suzanne Hopper
Clark County Sheriff’s Office, OH
EOW: Saturday, January 1, 2011
Cause of Death: Gunfire

 

Deputy Sheriff John Norsworthy
Fort Bend County Sheriff’s Office, TX
EOW: Tuesday, January 4, 2011
Cause of Death: Automobile accident

 

Chief of Police Ralph Painter
Rainier Police Department, OR
EOW: Wednesday, January 5, 2011
Cause of Death: Gunfire

 

Police Officer William H. Torbit Jr.
Baltimore City Police Department, MD
EOW: Sunday, January 9, 2011
Cause of Death: Gunfire (Accidental)

 

Police Officer Rogerio Morales
Davie Police Department, FL
EOW: Thursday, January 13, 2011
Cause of Death: Heart attack

 

Police Officer Kevin P. Marceau
Dallas Police Department, TX
EOW: Friday, January 14, 2011
Cause of Death: Struck by vehicle

 

Police Officer Christopher Matlosz
Lakewood Police Department, NJ
EOW: Friday, January 14, 2011
Cause of Death: Gunfire

 

Police Officer Larry Nehasil
Livonia Police Department, MI
EOW: Monday, January 17, 2011
Cause of Death: Gunfire

 

Police Officer Tom Hayes
Columbus Division of Police, OH
EOW: Thursday, January 20, 2011
Cause of Death: Gunfire

 

Detective Roger Castillo
Miami-Dade Police Department, FL
EOW: Thursday, January 20, 2011
Cause of Death: Gunfire

 

Detective Amanda Haworth
Miami-Dade Police Department, FL
EOW: Thursday, January 20, 2011
Cause of Death: Gunfire

 

Corporal Charles Richard (Chuck) Nesbitt Jr.
Sumter Police Department, SC
EOW: Friday, January 21, 2011
Cause of Death: Automobile accident

 

Sergeant Tom Baitinger
St. Petersburg Police Department, FL
EOW: Monday, January 24, 2011
Cause of Death: Gunfire

 

Police Officer Jeffrey Yaslowitz
St. Petersburg Police Department, FL
EOW: Monday, January 24, 2011
Cause of Death: Gunfire

 

Officer David Spencer Moore
Indianapolis Metropolitan Police Department, IN
EOW: Wednesday, January 26, 2011
Cause of Death: Gunfire

 

Corrections Officer Casimiro Pomales
New York State Department of Correctional …, NY
EOW: Friday, January 28, 2011
Cause of Death: Automobile accident

 

Park Ranger Chris Nickel
United States Department of the Interior -…, US
EOW: Saturday, January 29, 2011
Cause of Death: Duty related illness

 

Correctional Officer Jayme Lee Biendl
Washington State Department of Corrections, WA
EOW: Saturday, January 29, 2011
Cause of Death: Assault

 

Correctional Officer Colonel Greg Malloy
Florida Department of Corrections, FL
EOW: Wednesday, February 2, 2011
Cause of Death: Gunfire

 

Police Officer Michael J. Califano
Nassau County Police Department, NY
EOW: Saturday, February 5, 2011
Cause of Death: Automobile accident

 

Police Officer Jonathan Bastock
Stow Police Department, OH
EOW: Saturday, February 5, 2011
Cause of Death: Duty related illness

 

Police Officer Aaron Peru
San Carlos Apache Tribal Police Department, TR
EOW: Sunday, February 13, 2011
Cause of Death: Automobile accident

 

Officer Thomas Adams
California Highway Patrol, CA
EOW: Tuesday, February 15, 2011
Cause of Death: Automobile accident

 

Captain Daniel Stiles
Uniontown Police Department, OH
EOW: Tuesday, February 15, 2011
Cause of Death: Struck by vehicle

 

Special Agent Jaime J. Zapata
United States Department of Homeland Secur…, US
EOW: Tuesday, February 15, 2011
Cause of Death: Gunfire

 

Deputy Marshal Derek Hotsinpiller
United States Department of Justice – Unit…, US
EOW: Wednesday, February 16, 2011
Cause of Death: Gunfire

 

Captain John I. (Jay) McDonough
Volusia County Beach Patrol, FL
EOW: Wednesday, February 16, 2011
Cause of Death: Heart attack

 

Sergeant Adam Rosenthal
Delray Beach Police Department, FL
EOW: Thursday, February 17, 2011
Cause of Death: Automobile accident

 

Detective John Falcone
Poughkeepsie City Police Department, NY
EOW: Friday, February 18, 2011
Cause of Death: Gunfire

 

Police Officer David S. Crawford
St. Petersburg Police Department, FL
EOW: Monday, February 21, 2011
Cause of Death: Gunfire

 

Park Ranger Julie Weir
United States Department of the Interior -…, US
EOW: Thursday, February 24, 2011
Cause of Death: Automobile accident

 

Police Officer Fred Thornton
Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police Department, NC
EOW: Friday, February 25, 2011
Cause of Death: Explosion

 

Deputy Sheriff Willie Amos Cammon
Heard County Sheriff’s Office, GA
EOW: Thursday, March 3, 2011
Cause of Death: Automobile accident

 

Deputy Sheriff Shandon Wright
Pierce County Sheriff’s Department, WA
EOW: Thursday, March 3, 2011
Cause of Death: Duty related illness

 

District Administrator Debra K. Collins
Missouri Department of Corrections, MO
EOW: Friday, March 4, 2011
Cause of Death: Automobile accident

 

Police Officer Donald Joshua Newman
Jemison Police Department, AL
EOW: Saturday, March 5, 2011
Cause of Death: Automobile accident

 

Deputy Marshal John Perry
United States Department of Justice – Unit…, US
EOW: Tuesday, March 8, 2011
Cause of Death: Gunfire

 

Police Officer Jay Sheridan
Limon Police Department, CO
EOW: Wednesday, March 9, 2011
Cause of Death: Gunfire

 

Police Officer Geoffrey Breitkopf
Nassau County Police Department, NY
EOW: Saturday, March 12, 2011
Cause of Death: Gunfire (Accidental)

 

Deputy Sheriff Sebastian Diana
Orange County Sheriff’s Office, FL
EOW: Saturday, March 12, 2011
Cause of Death: Duty related illness

 

Deputy Sheriff Cameron Neil Justus
Buchanan County Sheriff’s Office, VA
EOW: Sunday, March 13, 2011
Cause of Death: Gunfire

 

Deputy Sheriff William Ezra Stiltner
Buchanan County Sheriff’s Office, VA
EOW: Sunday, March 13, 2011
Cause of Death: Gunfire

 

Police Officer Alain Schaberger
New York City Police Department, NY
EOW: Sunday, March 13, 2011
Cause of Death: Assault

 

Police Officer Stephanie Brown
San Antonio Police Department, TX
EOW: Tuesday, March 15, 2011
Cause of Death: Automobile accident

 

Police Officer Jermaine Gibson
Cathedral City Police Department, CA
EOW: Saturday, March 19, 2011
Cause of Death: Vehicle pursuit

 

Police Officer Andrew Dunn
Sandusky Police Department, OH
EOW: Saturday, March 19, 2011
Cause of Death: Gunfire

 

Police Officer Craig Birkholz
Fond du Lac Police Department, WI
EOW: Sunday, March 20, 2011
Cause of Death: Gunfire

 

Senior Police Officer Elmer (Buddy) Christian
Athens-Clarke County Police Department, GA
EOW: Tuesday, March 22, 2011
Cause of Death: Gunfire

 

Game Warden Pilot Daryl Gordon
Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and W…, ME
EOW: Friday, March 25, 2011
Cause of Death: Aircraft accident

 

Trooper Kevin P. Dobson
New York State Police, NY
EOW: Saturday, March 26, 2011
Cause of Death: Struck by vehicle

 

Trooper I Anthony R. Fotiou
New Jersey State Police, NJ
EOW: Monday, March 28, 2011
Cause of Death: Heart attack

 

Deputy Sheriff Robert Britton
Smith County Sheriff’s Office, TX
EOW: Monday, March 28, 2011
Cause of Death: Animal related
This entry was posted in Community, General News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *